Gold Coast Hinterland Heritage Museum
Gold Coast Hinterland Heritage Museum was established in 2001 by pioneering families who shared a vision to preserve the history of the region. The first building on the site, Oakey House, uses timber from the Hampshire Terrace Hotel.
Franklin House (built 1956), Tallebudgera Jail (1884), and Nerang Railway Station (1889) have been moved, reconstructed and renovated. A slab hut, a dairy and blacksmith’s shop can be found on site. A big shed houses a replica pioneer tent home, a grocery store, a butcher’s shop as well as tools and implements used by the pioneers.
This is wonderful place to visit to discover how the hinterland developed and how the pioneers lived in a bygone era.