The Southport School
The Gold Coast’s only Anglican day and boarding school for boys stands on the banks of Nerang River, a mix of grand heritage buildings and modern structures.
St Alban’s Chapel, built in memory of Old Boys who died serving their country in World War One, opened in 1921. The Clock Tower followed, with a dining hall and accommodation for three boarding houses. It served as an American army hospital during World War Two.
Biddle House, a collection of buildings formerly known as Governor’s House, was built in 1870 by Henry Biggs. It served as summer residence for two Queensland Governors before Horace Henry Dixon optioned it, renovated and set up The Southport School in 1901.
The Music School started life as a cable station sited at Bauer Street, Southport. It housed the Australia-Canada line that provided communication links in both World Wars. In 1981, two of the three buildings moved to TSS.
10.30am - 3.00pm
NO BOOKING REQUIRED
Self-guided tours will commence from 10.30am. There will be 4 guided tours with a maximum capacity for each tour being 25 people, departing from the Clock Tower at 11:00am, 12:00pm, 1:00pm and 2:00pm.
On the day you will be able to explore the general grounds including: Clock Tower, Dining Hall, Cable Station, Governor’s Residence, St Alban’s Chapel and the Memorial Room. Please wear comfortable walking shoes.
Memorial Room – AH Conrad and TBF Gargett
St Alban’s Chapel – Atkinson and Conrad Architects
Clock Tower – Atkinson and Conrad Architects
Dining Hall – Atkinson and Conrad Architects
St Alban’s Chapel – completed 1921; stained glass windows 1922
Clock Tower Building – Foundation Stone laid 1925; opened 1926
Dining Hall – opened 1926
Cable Station – repositioned to TSS 1982; Heritage Listed 2007
Governor’s House – built by Henry Biggs in 1870; became Biddle House 1985