Southport Uniting Church
The Southport Methodist Church bought three allotments on the corner of Short and Scarborough Streets and built a small wooden church in 1926. In 1930, a manse was added to house a married minister. It was removed in the 1960s.
The foundation stone for a new church, the Southport Methodist War Memorial Church, was laid on 18 July, 1964. Constructed of brick by congregation member Bill Short, the unique futuristic design was selected after an Australia-wide competition. The roof is a hyperbolic paraboloid.
Within the church, the Bill Short memorial stained glass window was designed by Glenn Mack Studio, Daylesford. Panes of coloured glass represent peace and harmony emanating from the Holy Spirit during the creation of heavens, Earth, sea, plants and animals.
The foyer has been remodelled to create an open and welcoming space which reflects the church’s mission statement: Connecting with the heart.
10.00am – 3.00pm
NO BOOKING REQUIRED
Self-guided tours. Visitors are welcome to wander around the Church and surrounds, and volunteers will be on site to answer any questions.
Messrs Douglas and Barnes
WG Short & Company
Original wooden Church constructed in 1926
Parsonage added in 1930. Parsonage removed in the 1960s
Existing Church built 1964. The front entrance of the church was remodelled in 2010.